~ The Art Of Change ~ with Carol Omer ~

Art and Creativity as Mediums for Empowerment , Connection and Change…

Earth, Water, Fire and Air – We are all Connected There

Posted by carolom on December 22, 2006

This is a copy of the black and white Elemental Mandala I created for a “remembering we are all connected” workshop (centre).

It is coloured in and cut out and mounted to create a 3 dimensional plaque Mandala.

I was running an Art of Change training workshop for 12 counsellors representing many footsteps ….All around the room the Earth, Water Fire and Air Mandala was being coloured in…rich warm flames, deep blue seas….as I looked around the tables it was as if a circle of little campfires had emerged and the warmth and connectedness in the room was palpable.

A peaceful, playful atmosphere and I was feeling very pleased with how the “Sacred Nature of the work that We Do and Creativity in the Workplace” workshop was going ….very well indeed….

We were at a semi remote camp site, 60 kms south of Adelaide… “Douglas Scrub”, surrounded by the beautiful Australian bush, several kilometers from the nearest town…

We broke for afternoon tea and upon stepping outside saw a huge puff of billowing smoke over the next hill……the wind was blowing towards us and after a brief period of uncertainty…we were evacuated because of a FIRE heading our way….

Oh the theatre of our Fire Evacuation!…tables full of elemental Mandalas….the Community Connections bus with a flat tyre-that-was-changed-very-quickly…art gear tossed will nilly into pillow cases and car boots….Relaxation and Meditation session tossed out the window!

The bush fire water-plane zooming over head….

I unwittingly launched my new Mandala in the baptism of “Fire, fire fire”…

Fortunately the camp site was safe, the Fire was contained and in amongst all this I was gifted with a new insight:

When creating with Fire…especially on a Full Moon day.. ….do not underestimate the power of the collective energy of a group of people colouring the elemental Spirits into Being….

Engaging with art and creativity during workshops provides a creative mind massage, engages all of the senses and is just simply FUN and enjoyable…..transforming the image from the black and white copy is a wonderful way to reactivate dormant creativity and to bring ones own unique perspective to a concept…. but be warned!…..when creating camp fires in the place of imagination and creativty, you just might need to make sure you know exactly what you are dealing with…..;)

*******************************

For interest the words on the bottom of the plaque are by Luisah Teish:

Earth, Water, Fire and Air
Within me all things are there

Flesh on my bones is like the Earth
soft but strong and full of worth

The blood that flows within my veins
Is like the ocean, river and rain

My Spirit soars and takes me higher
Here is where I keep my Fire

My breath and thoughts are like the air
I can do EVERYthing and go ANYwhere

Earth, Water, Fire and Air
within me all things are there
And so I pledge unto myself
Power and Love and Health and Wealth

About Luisah

Leave a Reply

 
